Listing of Richland County, Wisconsin Sheriff's

***Special note that in the 1940's up until the 1950's Wisconsin had a term limit that Sheriff's could serve. In some cases the Sheriff at that point then would have his wife run for Sheriff and she would serve as Sheriff to break up the consecutive years thus complying with the law on term limits. When this occurred an (*) appears next to the name. However it should be noted that in many cases during the 1940's and 1950's the wife and husband shared the Sheriff and Undersheriff job together.

**Also note, Sheriff's terms listed, unless noted specifically, started in January on the first Monday of the year listed and ended at the end of the year listed understand that the Sheriff likely did serve a few days more in January of the next year while waiting for the first Monday of that year to arrive for a new Sheriff to take office. New Sheriff's in Wisconsin take office on the first Monday of the year starting their term.

Years Served

1897-1898- George M. Snyder

As Sheriff Name 1851-1852- John J. Mathews, Richmond 1853-1854- Robert C. Hawkins, Richland Center 1855-1856- George C. White, Sand Prairie 1857-1858- L.M Thorp, Port Andrews 1859-1861- William H. Joslin, Richland Center 1861-1863- E.L.D. Moody 1863-1865- Joseph McMurtry 1865....L.M Thorp was elected to serve this term but did not qualify to take office. 1865-1866- Hiram Welton 1867-1868- Joseph McMurtrey 1869-1870- J.B. McGrew 1871-1872- W.C.S. Barron 1873-1874- R.D. Robinson 1875-1876- W.C.S. Barron 1877-1878- G.N. Matteson 1879-1880- D.L. Noble 1881-1882- Harry Busby 1883-1884- A.D.Lane 1885-1886- Thomas Sippy 1887-1888- Austin Chandler 1889-1890- John McKav 1891-1892- S.T. Ross 1893-1894- A.J. McKay 1895-1896- Warren J. Griffin

LISTING OF RICHLAND COUNTY SHERIFFS PAGE TWO

```
1899-1900- James A. Sharp
1901-1902- Samuel T. Ross
1903-1904- Martin Copenhefer
1905-1906- George Roudebush
1907-1908- Martin Copenhefer
1909-1910- Fred Hoke
1911-1912- A.C. Wertz
1913-1914- W.F.J. Fogo
1915-1916- George W. Miller
1917-1918- O.J. Howard
1919-1920- Frank Sperry
1921-1922- George Beatty
1923-1924- D.O. Dietzman
1925-1926- Ole Olson
1927-1928- D.O. Dietzman
1929-1932- Herman Kidd
1933-1934- Theo Wait
1935-1936- Herman Kidd
1937-1940- J. Ben McClaren (2 terms, 4 years)
1941-1942- Mabel McClaren***
1943-1946- J. Ben McClaren (2 terms, 4 years)
1947-1950- Loren Marshall (2 terms, 4 years)
1951-1952- Donna Marshall***
1953-1956- Loren Marshall (2 terms, 4 years)
1957-1960- William O. Drone (2 terms, 4 years)
1961-1962- Bonita Drone ***
1963-1964- William O. Drone
1965-1972- Larry D. Wyman (4 terms, 8 years)
1973-1980- Charles M. Cupp (4 terms, 8 years)
1981-1982- Curtis Fetty
1983-1986- William Breneman (2 terms, 4 years)
1987-1996- Fred C. Schram, (5 terms, 9 years). Schram Dies in Office
on January 1, 1996
```

1996, February 2, Darrell C. Berglin appointed Sheriff by Wisconsin Governor Tommy Thompson.

1996-Present- Darrell C. Berglin, (7 terms, 15 years)

***2003 Wisconsin starts 4 year term for Sheriffs